Dayton Football hosts Morehead State on Senior Day


    DAYTON (UD Athletics) – After a bye week in the schedule the University of Dayton football team returns home to face Morehead State Saturday, Nov. 10. Game time is 1:00 p.m. ET.

    Dayton, 4-5 overall and 3-3 in the Pioneer Football League, is playing its final regular season home game of 2018. Morehead State is 3-6 and 2-4.

    Saturday’s is Senior Day. UD’s 28 seniors -- Jason Balogh, Will Bobek, Matt Brandeis, Joe Bruni, Marlin Bunnell, David DiSilvestro, Lucas Edwards, J.P. Forcucci, A.J. Foster, Ben Gauthier, Alex Jeske, Kyle Kaparos, Jake Kempt, Shane Lefever, David Leisring, Andrew Lynn, Christian McDerrmott, Christopher Papalia, Matt Rightnour, Tim Roell, Isaac Sexton, Sean Smith, Dante Stefanini, Adam Stull, Nick Surges, Adam Trautman, Matt Tunnacliffe and Tucker Yinger -- will be recognized before the game,

    At halftime, one of them will be named the winner of the Lt. Andy Zulli Trophy, a character-driven award that is the most prestigious at UD.

    The Flyers entered the season with the fourth-best winning percentage (.744, 148-51) in FCS football since 2000 AND have produced the most football Academic All-Americans (29) at any level of competition in the same time frame. The top five in winning percentage are Harvard (.782), North Dakota State (.778), Montana (.753), Dayton (.744), and San Diego (.741).

    UD has not been shut out in a school-record 474 straight games, the best such active string in all of college football. The last team to shut out the Flyers was Marshall, 9-0, on Oct. 16, 1976. That is also the all-time FCS record.

    The Pioneer Football League is in its 26th season. The original (and now the only) Division I strictly need-based football league began with charter members Butler, Dayton, Drake, Evansville, San Diego and Valparaiso. UD's 116-40 record is the best in PFL history. The Flyers' 12 league championships are three more than any other PFL team.

    Rick Chamberlin is now in his 11th season in charge of the Flyer football program. His record is 82-38. He is third all-time in wins at Dayton, behind two members of the College Football Hall of Fame -- Mike Kelly (246 wins) and Harry Baujan (124).

    In his 44th season with the program as a player, assistant and head coach, UD's winning percentage with Chamberlin involved in some capacity is .768, without him it is a still-respectable .562. Chamberlin is the winningest coach in Pioneer Football League history, with 61 wins. No other PFL coaches have 50 league wins.

    Redshirt senior running back Tucker Yinger has 3,290 career yards. He is the 12th player in PFL history to reach 3,000 career yards, and the fifth active FCS player. He is 127 yards away from becoming the first Dayton football player to have back-to-back 1,000-yard rushing seasons. Yinger is second in career rushing at UD, behind only his former teammate Connor Kacsor, who ran for 3,581 yards from 2012 to 2015.

    The Flyers finish the season at Jacksonville on Nov. 17.

    News In Photos

      Loading ...