MENU
component-ddb-728x90-v1-01-desktop

Miami releases men's basketball 2017 non-conference schedule

Miami.jpg

OXFORD, Ohio – Miami University head men’s basketball coach Jack Owens announced the RedHawks’ non-conference schedule on Monday. The 13-game slate will feature several games against traditional basketball powers and is highlighted by a trip to Jamaica to participate in the first Jamaica Classic in Montego Bay.

Prior to beginning the 2017-18 campaign, Miami will host Maryville for an exhibition contest on Sunday, Nov. 5. The season begins on Friday, Nov. 10, when the RedHawks travel to Fordham as one of two mainland contests in the Jamaica Classic. The home opener comes on Tuesday, Nov. 14, when Miami welcomes local rival Wright State to Millett Hall.

Traveling to Montego Bay, Jamaica, the RedHawks will take on LIU Brooklyn on Friday, Nov. 17 and Hartford on Sunday, Nov. 19. Games will take place in the Montego Bay Convention Center.

The Jamaica Classic concludes with one final mainland game as Miami travels to Tulane on Wednesday, Nov. 22. The road-trip concludes with a tilt at Austin Peay on Sunday, Nov. 26.

The RedHawks return home to take on Midway University on Wednesday, Nov. 29. Afterwards they will take a two-game road trip to Western Illinois on Saturday, Dec. 2 and Missouri on Tuesday, Dec. 5. Surrounding finals week, Miami hosts Fort Wayne on Saturday, Dec. 9 and Rio Grande on Sunday, Dec. 17. The non-conference portion of the schedule concludes with a pair of high-profile road contests as the Red and White travel to DePaul on Thursday, Dec. 21 and face Ohio State for the first time since 2014 on Saturday, Dec. 30.

The Miami Athletic Department will have several exciting themes and giveaways throughout the 2017-18 season. Fan favorites such as the Firecrackers and the Frisbee Dogs will return, while there will be autograph sessions at various games as well. Themes and dates will be announced with the release of the Mid-American Conference schedule later this summer.

Trending